Pilot Areas / Pilot Regions of the ECONNECT- Project

Layer description

The project-strategy and the action plan are implemented in the 7 Pilot Regions:

- Mercantour/Alpi Marittime
- French Department Isère
- Haute Valais Ossola/Monte Rose region/Locarnese
- Rhaetian Triangle/Val Poschiavo
- Hohe Tauern region
- Berchtesgaden Salzburg
- Northern Limestone Region

The Pilot Areas are based on the previous work of the Continuum-Project. The main focus was the connection of the several protected areas inside a bio-geographic or socioeconomic region of the Alps. The project partners defined their perimeter based on these aspects. In a second step the original border (draft) was substituted by the nearest municipal border.

Layer Legend



Border of the pilot regions